Monday • January 22
CST 10:17 | EST 11:17 | MST 9:17 | PST 8:17 | GMT 16:17
Other Non-Flash Media Players
December 09, 2017

Chronic Kidney Disease
Bookmark and Share
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 30 million people, which means 15 percent of all U.S. adults, have chronic kidney disease, which is the gradual loss of kidney function. Kidneys filter wastes and excess fluids from the blood, which are then excreted in the urine. Treatment for chronic kidney disease focuses on slowing the progression of the kidney damage usually by controlling the underlying cause. When chronic kidney disease reaches an advanced stage, dangerous levels of fluid, electrolytes and wastes can build up in the body.

Dr. LaTonya Hickson, a nephrologist at Mayo Clinic, will discuss treatment of chronic kidney disease. Also on the program, Dr. Rizwan Sohail, director of the Travel and Tropical Medicine Clinic at Mayo Clinic, will offer tips for avoiding blood clots during travel. And Dr. Lois Krahn, a sleep medicine specialist at Mayo Clinic, will share the findings of a study on how having dogs in the bedroom affects sleep
Episode Segments:
 
Mayo Clinic Radio: Chronic Kidney Disease
The treatment of chronic kidney disease, avoiding blood clots during travel, & a study on how having dogs in the bedroom affects sleep.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...