Wednesday • March 21
CST 9:30 | EST 10:30 | MST 8:30 | PST 7:30 | GMT 14:30
Other Non-Flash Media Players

Get Podcast Get Podcast
Host : Dr. Tom Shives
twitter facebook
Host : Tracy McCray
twitter facebook

MAYO CLINIC RADIO with DR. TOM SHIVES and TRACY MCCRAY is the fast paced weekly one hour talk show featuring the latest authoritative information about health and medical breakthroughs.

Each episode features guest experts from Mayo Clinic, with fascinating medical facts, new health research, and helpful advice, presented in a compelling, relatable way.

Mayo Clinic orthopedic surgeon TOM SHIVES, M.D. has hosted MAYO CLINIC RADIO for two decades. Dr. Shives is an Orthopedic Surgeon at Mayo Clinic and his academic rank is Professor of Orthopedics.

TRACY MCCRAY is a long time radio talk show host and co-host of MAYO CLINIC RADIO. As a 26 year cancer survivor, Tracy has an intense interest in medicine and helping patients become their own best health advocates.

Recent Episodes
March 03, 2018
National Nutrition Month 2018
March is National Nutrition Month, an annual education and information campaign sponsored by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. On the Mayo Clinic Radio podcast, Kate Zeratsky, a registered dietitian at Mayo Clinic, shares tips for eating healthy on the go and ideas for reducing food waste. Also on the podcast, Dr. Sara Selig, director of CURE OM (the Community United for Research and Education of Ocular Melanoma) at the Melanoma Research Foundation, discusses ocular melanoma, a rare form of cancer of the eye. And Dr. Carrie A. Thompson, a hematologist at Mayo Clinic, shares findings of a new study that’s using modern technology – and emojis – to help cancer patients communicate easily with their health care providers.
February 24, 2018
Women's Heart Health
Dr. Rekha Mankad, a Mayo Clinic cardiologist and director of the Women’s Heart Clinic, will join us to discuss women's heart health. Also on the program, Dr. Tobias Kohler, a urologist at Mayo Clinic, will explain a promising new treatment for benign prostatic hyperplasia, or BPH. And Dr. Brent Bauer and Dr. Anja Jamrozik will share findings of the first study done by Mayo Clinic's Well Living Lab. Dr. Bauer is director of the Mayo Clinic Complementary and Integrative Medicine Program and medical director for the Well Living Lab. Dr. Jamrozik is the Delos behavioral science consultant.
February 17, 2018
Lifesyle Choices and Cancer Risk
a href="" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Dr. Timothy Moynihan, an oncologist at Mayo Clinic, will discuss lifestyle and cancer risk. Also on the program, Dr. Karthik Balakrishnan, an otolaryngologist at Mayo Clinic, will explain how 3-D printing is being used by surgeons to prepare for complex procedures. And Dr. Win-Kuang Shen, a cardiologist at Mayo Clinic, will explain why people faint.
February 10, 2018
Heart Disease Prevention and Treatment
On the Mayo Clinic Radio podcast, Dr. Stephen Kopecky, a cardiologist at Mayo Clinic, discusses heart disease treatment and prevention. Also on the program, Dr. Gregory Poland, an infectious diseases specialist at Mayo Clinic, has an update on flu season. And the mother-daughter duo, Eileen Opatz Berger and Joan Berger Bachman, share their new how-to book for talking with the elderly, If Only You Would Ask
Visit the complete archive...
Listen to MAYO CLINIC RADIO each week right here on TALKZONE.