Sunday • February 18
CST 4:33 | EST 5:33 | MST 3:33 | PST 2:33 | GMT 10:33
Other Non-Flash Media Players


PLAY LATEST EPISODE
ADD THIS SHOW TO THE LIST OF SHOWS YOU ARE FOLLOWING IN MY ZONE Access The Complete Listing of Past Show Archives
Get Podcast Get Podcast
Host : Dr. Tom Shives
twitter facebook
Host : Tracy McCray
twitter facebook

MAYO CLINIC RADIO with DR. TOM SHIVES and TRACY MCCRAY is the fast paced weekly one hour talk show featuring the latest authoritative information about health and medical breakthroughs.

Each episode features guest experts from Mayo Clinic, with fascinating medical facts, new health research, and helpful advice, presented in a compelling, relatable way.

Mayo Clinic orthopedic surgeon TOM SHIVES, M.D. has hosted MAYO CLINIC RADIO for two decades. Dr. Shives is an Orthopedic Surgeon at Mayo Clinic and his academic rank is Professor of Orthopedics.

TRACY MCCRAY is a long time radio talk show host and co-host of MAYO CLINIC RADIO. As a 26 year cancer survivor, Tracy has an intense interest in medicine and helping patients become their own best health advocates.

Recent Episodes
 
January 27, 2018
Immunotherapy to fight cancer
Dr. Keith Knutson, an immunologist at Mayo Clinic, discusses the research and clinical trials at Mayo Clinic that are putting immunotherapy into action. Also on the podcast, Dr. Francisco Lopez-Jimenez, chair of the Division of Preventive Cardiology at Mayo Clinic and research director of the Dan Abraham Healthy Living Center, will explain how even light activity, such as walking the dog or vacuuming, is better for you than previously thought. And Dr. Gail Bolan, director of the Division of STD Prevention at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, discusses the rise in sexually transmitted diseases (STDs).
 
January 20, 2018
The impact of arthritis
Dr. Eric Matteson, chair of Division of Rheumatology at Mayo Clinic, will discuss the impact of arthritis on patients and society. Also on the program, Dr. Steve Alberts, chair of the Division of Medical Oncology at Mayo Clinic, will give an update on the latest in liver cancer treatment. And Dr. Craig Sawchuk, a psychologist at Mayo Clinic, will discuss how behavioral interventions can help treat insomnia.
 
January 13, 2018
Pancreatic Cancer Treatments
Dr. Mark Truty, a general surgeon at Mayo Clinic, discusses pancreatic cancer and explains the new treatment protocol that is offering hope. Also on the podcast, Dani Johnson, a physical therapist at the Mayo Clinic Healthy Living Program, has tips to get you moving in the new year. And Dr. Anne Wheaton, an epidemiologist and sleep program lead in the Division of Population Health at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, joins the podcast to discuss why Americans aren’t getting enough sleep.

 
January 06, 2018
Fighting Big Tobacco
Dr. Richard Hurt, emeritus director of the Mayo Clinic Nicotine Dependence Center, discuss the decades-long fight against big tobacco. The tobacco companies were required to begin running court-ordered television and newspaper ads – called corrective statements – to tell the American public the truth about the dangers of smoking. Also on the podcast, Dr. Yogish Kudva, a Mayo Clinic endocrinologist, discusses new diabetes technologies. And, Dr. Rizwan Sohail, director of the Travel and Tropical Medicine Clinic at Mayo Clinic, explains what causes motion sickness and how to avoid it.
Visit the complete archive...
Listen to MAYO CLINIC RADIO each week right here on TALKZONE.